Who We Are


Based in Old City, Philadelphia, we're a group of architects and designers working collaboratively to make a positive impact on the built environment. From our large studio perched on the second floor of a 19th century warehouse building, we focus our energy on projects in the public realm, from campuses to urban streets, working together to create spaces that will inspire and hold meaning for our collective community.

Daniel Kelley,
FAIA

Partner

Dan leads the overall approach to architecture, planning, and craft – sustaining for over twenty years the direction of the firm’s commissions as well as the continuity of the firm’s portfolio of design. His focus is on making thoughtful and artistically considered buildings. In parallel, his teaching affiliation has been with Drexel University and the University of Pennsylvania, as well as presenting subjects of design and the built environment nationally and internationally. He is a graduate of Georgia Tech and the Harvard Graduate School of Design, and is a member of the Carpenter’s Company of Philadelphia. Dan is a native of Ohio.

Mary Keefe
 

Partner

Mary directs the firm's strategic planning and ascertains what community engagements, consultants, and projects are right for the firm. A graduate of Boston College, she came to Philadelphia for an MBA at the Wharton Business School – joining the firm in 1990 and becoming a prominent female principal in the architectural community. Her professional interests include memberships with the Wharton Alumni Association and the Forum of Executive Women. Mary is a native of Boston.

Amy Stein,
AIA

Partner

Amy directs the firm’s work in building revival, workplace, and courthouse projects. Her experience is forged from an enduring relationship with the U.S. General Services Administration spanning twenty years and dozens of projects involving the reuse of important and historic civic buildings throughout the nation. To share her commitment to the heritage and quality of life in Philadelphia, she sits on the Architectural Committee of the Historical Commission. Amy is a graduate of Kent State University and is a native of Ohio.

Katie Broh,
AIA

Partner

Katie directs the firm’s work for performing arts and independent school projects. Her passion for these two programs is synthesized in her leadership of two non-profit organizations dedicated to arts education for school children in Philadelphia – Musicopia and Dancing Classrooms Philly. She is on the Board of the Philadelphia AIA and teaches design studios as an adjunct faculty member of Drexel University. She is a graduate of University of Michigan and the University of Pennsylvania. Katie is a native of Michigan.

Christine Marsal
 

Affiliate Principal

Christine directs the firm’s promotion and development. Building upon her previous career in the arts, she joined the studio in 2001 and has become the curator of the MGA portfolio. Focusing on the bookends of a project, Christine guides an initial project approach through proposals and competitions and returns to tell the stories of our collective work. As a champion for urban life, she sits on the Fine Art Committee of the Philadelphia Redevelopment Authority. She is a graduate of St. Olaf College and the Rhode Island School of Design. Christine is a native of Ohio.

Robert Shuman,
AIA

Affiliate Principal

Bob focuses on the documentation and delivery of our projects. Since joining the firm in 1982, he has developed an expertise in detailing, building systems integration, energy efficient design, building code analysis, and general professional practice – all with an emphasis on integrated and responsible architecture. He is a graduate of Cornell University and received his architectural degree at Temple University, where he is currently an Associate Professor at the Tyler School of Art. Bob is a native of Philadelphia.

Giuseppe
Scarabello

Associate

Giuseppe leads the firm’s visualization process through computer-based imagery. His involvement across the studio allows the firm to focus on creative renderings, illustrations, and animations through all phases from conceptual studies to documentation. He researches new digital technologies to advance our image-making capabilities. His artistic talents allow the firm to provide powerful drawings to our clients as they seek critical donor support and public approvals. He is a graduate of the University of Venezia and is a member of the American Society of Architectural Illustrators. Giuseppe is a native of Italy.

Joey
Hoepp

Associate

Joey focuses on the masterplanning and design of campus buildings and has developed a specialty in working with our independent school clients. Prior to joining MGA, Joey spent three years as a researcher for the TC Chan Center for Building Simulation & Energy Studies and brings that acquired knowledge to help our clients create healthier, more productive, energy efficient strategies for a sustainable environment. Joey is a graduate of Columbia University and the University of Pennsylvania and is a native of New Hampshire.

Sara
Pettit

Associate

Sara focuses on the planning, design, and management of institutional projects, including large-scale federal workplace studies. Sara’s passion for mentoring has shaped her role as a team leader for the ACE Mentor Program, where she works with Philadelphia high school students interested in the building industry. This interest in identifying talent and encouraging professional growth has also shaped her role in leading the recruiting process for the firm. She is a graduate of The Pennsylvania State University and is a native of Pittsburgh.

Aisha Branham

NOMA, LEED AP BD+C
Architect
BArch, Carnegie Mellon University
abranham@mgapartners.com

Alyssa M. Stein

Architect
BArch, Drexel University
amstein@mgapartners.com

Boyd Petterson, AIA

LEED AP BD+C
Architect
MArch, University of Pennsylvania
bpetterson@mgapartners.com

Ryan Drummond, AIA

LEED AP
Architect
MArch, Cornell University
rdrummond@mgapartners.com

Christopher Raia

Graphics & Communications
BFA Industrial Design, Rhode Island School of Design
craia@mgapartners.com

Clive Copping, RIBA

Architect
BArch, Royal Institute of British Architects, England
ccopping@mgapartners.com

Daniel Chittick

Architect
BArch, Drexel University
dchittick@mgapartners.com

Elizabeth Saleh

Architect
MArch, Cornell University
esaleh@mgapartners.com

Faye Nixon

Intern Architect
MArch / MLA candidate, University of Pennsylvania
fnixon@mgapartners.com

Cary Trochesset, AIA

Architect
MArch, Tulane University
ctrochesset@mgapartners.com

Stefann Plishka, AIA

Architect
MArch, Georgia Institute of Technology
splishka@mgapartners.com

Kai Johnson

Intern Architect
BArch candidate, Drexel University
kjohnson@mgapartners.com

Katharine Norris

Office Manager
BA, Lake Forest College
knorris@mgapartners.com

Samantha Holmes

Architect
BArch, Drexel University
sholmes@mgapartners.com

Margo Angelopoulos

Architect
MArch, University of Pennsylvania
mangelopoulos@mgapartners.com

Marguerite Hollander

LEED Green Associate
Intern Architect
BArch candidate, Drexel University
mhollander@mgapartners.com

Andrew Hoffmann

Architect
BArch, The Pennsylvania State University
ahoffmann@mgapartners.com

Lauren Aguilar

Intern Architect
MArch candidate, University of Pennsylvania
laguilar@mgapartners.com

Ryan Goodman

Intern Architect
BArch, Catholic University
rgoodman@mgapartners.com

Studio
Staff

CONTACT | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM